AAIP Members Receive UW Family Medicine Awards

December 13, 2021

Posted by Margaret Knight on 12/13/2021

UW Family Medicine Awards

Three Indigenous Doctors Receive UW Department of Family Medicine Awards The University of Washington Department of Family Medicine began a new Awards Program this year, in honor of the 50th anniversary of the department. Family Medicine attracts exceptional faculty who have made remarkable contributions to the department, the specialty, and their communities over the past 50 years. Awards were offered in several categories including Clinical Service Excellence, Educational Excellence, Research and Scholarship Excellence, Leadership Excellence, Justice, Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion (JEDI) Excellence, and Staff Excellence. Nominations were accepted and winners were named from across the WWAMI (Washington, Wyoming, Alaska, Montana, and Idaho) Region, and among them were three Indigenous family doctors selected for their skills and accomplishments as leaders and educators.

The nominations for these three physicians all named their Indigenous heritage as an important driving force in their work. The UW Department of Family Medicine celebrates the individuals and the communities that have supported them. We are grateful for their unique and meaningful contributions to medical education, patient care, and community. Photos and a list of all winners are available here: Please direct inquiries to Dr. Jeanne Cawse-Lucas, Associate Professor of Family Medicine

Terry Maresca, MD (Washington)
Educational Excellence

LeeAnna Muzquiz, MD (Montana)
Leadership Excellence

Neil Sun Rhoades, MD, MPH (Montana)
Educational Excellence