American Indian Physicians Organization Elects New Board President

September 30, 2016
Posted by AAIP News on 09/30/2016

Sterling Springer
Communications Manager                                                                                                                                                               
405-946-7072 (Office)


September 30, 2016

American Indian Physicians Organization Elects New Board President

OKLAHOMA CITY, OK – The Association of American Indian Physicians (AAIP) membership, during the 2016 annual meeting, voted to extend the term of the Board President to two years. The membership, which consists of 400+ American Indian and Alaska Native physicians, had previously elected Ron Shaw, MD as President-Elect at the 2015 annual meeting. Dr. Shaw will serve 2016-17 and 2017-18 as AAIP Board President.

 Dr. Shaw has practiced medicine for over 30 years. His professional interest includes addiction treatment. He received his undergraduate degree from Dartmouth College and received his medical degree from the University of Washington School of Medicine. Dr. Shaw practices internal medicine at the Citizen Potawatomi Nation Health Clinic and was elected to the Osage Nation Congress, in 2014.

 Other Board members for the 2016-17 year include: Mary Owen, MD, Treasurer, Dorothy Rhoades, MD, Secretary, Brian Thompson, MD, At-Large, Melvina McCabe, MD, At-Large, Katya Adachi, MD, At-Large, Lukejohn Day, MD, At-Large.

Since 1971, the primary goal of AAIP is to improve the overall health and wellness of American Indians and Alaska Natives. Our mission is “to pursue excellence in Native American healthcare by promoting education in the medical disciplines, honoring traditional healing principles and restoring the balance of mind, body, and spirit”